Start reading The Tudor Princess on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Tudor Princess [Kindle Edition]

Darcey Bonnette
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (110 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.00 (75%)
This price was set by the publisher
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.99  
Paperback £3.85  
Kindle Books Summer Sale
Kindle Summer Sale: Books from 99p
Browse over 600 titles from best-selling authors, including Neil Gaiman, John Grisham, Jeffrey Archer, Veronica Roth and Sylvia Day. >Shop now

Book Description

Love, treachery and betrayal at court… The perfect read for fans of Philippa Gregory and Susannah Dunn.

From her earliest days, Margaret Tudor knows she will not have the luxury of choosing a husband. As daughter of Henry VII, her duty is to gain alliances for England. Barely out of girlhood, Margaret is married by proxy to James IV and travels to Edinburgh to become Queen of Scotland.

Despite her doubts, Margaret falls under the spell of her adopted home. But she has rivals. While Jamie is an affectionate husband, he is not a faithful one. And providing an heir cannot guarantee Margaret's safety when Jamie leads an invading army against her own brother, Henry VIII.

In the wake of tragic loss she falls prey to the attentions of the ambitious Earl of Angus – a move that brings Scotland to the brink of anarchy. Beset by betrayal, secret alliances, and the vagaries of her own heart, Margaret has one overriding ambition – to preserve the crown of Scotland for her son, no matter what the cost.

Exquisitely detailed and poignant, The Tudor Princess vividly depicts the life and loves of an extraordinary woman who helped shape the fate of two kingdoms – and in time, became the means of uniting them.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description

Review

Praise for ‘The Tudor Princess’:

‘Tenderly crafted and absorbing.’ My Weekly

‘Exquisitely poignant and detailed.’ Take A Break

Praise for ‘Secrets of the Tudor Court’:

‘Throbs with intensity as it lays bare the secret delights of Tudor court life. A tale of innocence and ruthless ambition locked in a love-hate embrace.’
Barbara Kyle, author of ‘The King’s Daughter’

‘A beautifully written story with wonderful attention to detail. I loved the book.’
Diane Haeger, author of ‘The Queen’s Mistake’

About the Author

Darcey Bonnette is a history major and also a multi-talented musician with classical voice training. Her first two novels,
‘Secrets of the Tudor Court’ and ‘Rivals in the Tudor Court’ are out now.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1324 KB
  • Print Length: 337 pages
  • Publisher: Avon (10 April 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00D0VX0JO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (110 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #10,339 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful 14 May 2014
By Connal
Format:Kindle Edition
I could not finish this book it was so bad. Apart from the misrepresentation of life at the royal court, the constant use of dinna and canna as scot's language the final straw for me was Jame IV father being mutilated at the battle of Bannockburn. Given it took place 1314 his father would have been about 185 when James IV was born. I would have expected some basis in fact even though this is a historical novel. Very Brigadoon.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea 21 April 2014
By Iset TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
First, it's worth noting that this is a re-release under a different name of The Forbidden Queen by D. L. Bogdan.

Unfortunately, The Tudor Princess wasn't my cup of tea. I picked up this book because I was intrigued by the premise. Whilst historical fiction on the Tudors seems to be everywhere these days, novels about Margaret Tudor, elder sister of King Henry VIII and Queen of Scotland, are few and far between. So I was quite interested in the idea of reading a novel about Margaret's life and her struggles.

The choice of pacing and the book's style of telling instead of showing were what stopped me from really enjoying it. Margaret expresses sadness on one page and excitement the next, a happy event occurs and a page later we've skipped a year and tragedy occurs (I'm avoiding giving examples as I don't want to give spoilers). I felt like the events of Margaret's life were being skimmed over, not explored in enough depth. As a reader I simply wasn't given the opportunity to care for any of these characters. That just doesn't move me, that doesn't tug at my heartstrings or make me feel in any way invested in what happens to these characters at all.When exciting or moving events occur off-screen, so to speak, and are related back to us the readers in a one line summary, you're basically cutting out the heart of the story. This is the meat of the plot! A writer wants to get their readers engaged in the events and characters of the story, and readers want to read a story they care about. When the events occur "off-screen" they lose a great deal of immediacy and feeling, and even worse when events are summarised and characters go from one emotion to the next and months and years pass in one page.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just awful 18 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Awful, I couldn't finish this - I 'canna' understand why anyone would give this a 5 star rating and 'dinna' believe how readers could compare this with other historical writers like Gregory, Weir or Chadwick - can now see why it was only £1 to download on kindle.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It's dreadful - none of the characters are remotely believable and the vague attempt at evoking Scotland in the Tudor period with one reference to a kilt and the constant use of 'canna' and 'dinna' is just irritating. Rebranded to cash in on the success of Phillipa Gregory - don't waste your money.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really dull and laborious sorry 7 May 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I found the style of this to be very hard to get in to. I love history, historical novels but this just seems stilted and to be honest dull. This is a shame because she ,Margaret Tudor is a key figure in history about the politics between Scotland and England. I kept persevering but to be honest couldn't bother reading to the end.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just no 11 Nov. 2014
Format:Paperback
Read this recently while on holiday, borrowed from the hotel. SO glad I didn't spend money on it! Only read to the end to find out what happened, should have just saved time and read it on Wikipedia. The characters are all flat caricatures, felt only her son James was given any personality at all. Very historically inaccurate, I threw the book across the room at the first mention of a kilt (those wouldn't come about for another 200 years!) Didn't evoke the feel of the country or time period at all, even the drama was so poorly written it was boring. Show, Ms. Bonnette, don't tell! I'll stick with my Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick from now on. This just read like it was written by a university student who had never even set foot in the UK, let alone Scotland.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition
A new title. A new author's name. A new cover.

Yet EXACTLY the same book as one I'd purchased previously - The Forbidden Queen by D. L. Bogdan.

Why do this?

I've sent this one back for a refund and I won't be bothering with titles from *either* of these split personalities again.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Average read 11 Aug. 2014
By Rose
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I love books about the Tudors but this was not as good as a Philippa Gregory by a long way. I have read other Darcey Bonnette novels which I have enjoyed more. This seemed to be one long self pitying account of Margaret, wife of James IV of Scotland. Somehow I just couldn't sympathise with her.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category