Start reading The Informationist (Vanessa Munroe) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

The Informationist (Vanessa Munroe) [Kindle Edition]

Taylor Stevens
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £3.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.00 (43%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.99  
Paperback £6.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

A New York Times bestseller, The Informationist introduces Vanessa Michael Munroe, a brilliant new heroine, in a thriller for fans of Lisbeth Salander, Jack Reacher and Jason Bourne.




'One of the best thrillers of the year!' Tess Gerritsen



Vanessa Munroe deals in information - covert information. With an extraordinary intellect, a physique that allows her to pass as either male or female, and ruthless martial arts skills, she offers a unique service to anyone - government or individual - who'll pay her.



Now a Texas oil billionaire has hired her to find his daughter, who vanished in Africa four years earlier. Where international investigators have tried and failed, Munroe follows a cold trail far into the lawless lands of central Africa.



And then things spin out of control.



Pulled deep into the mystery of the missing girl, Munroe finds herself cut off from civilisation and left for dead. Her only hope of discovering the truth - and of getting out of Africa alive - is to face up to the violent past that she's fought so hard to forget.



Product Description

Review

"Munroe is a sensational character and Stevens is a sensational writer" (Lee Child)

"The world may have found its next Lisbeth Salander " (Daily Telegraph)

"One of the best thrillers of the year!" (Tess Gerritsen)

"Written with the muscular force of Lee Child and the geo-political foresight of Frederick Forsyth, it announces the arrival of a new heroine." (Daily Mail)

"With exotic locations, a twisty plot and plenty of violent action, it’s a fresh and punchy thriller." (Sunday Mirror)

Book Description

A New York Times bestseller, The Informationist introduces Vanessa Michael Munroe, a brilliant new heroine, in a thriller for fans of Lisbeth Salander, Jack Reacher and Jason Bourne.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1979 KB
  • Print Length: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone Digital (6 Jun. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00CTSBLK4
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #79,907 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By Anne TOP 500 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Kindle Edition
This book probably deserves 3.5 or even 3.75 stars but it doesn't quite make the four stars because I found that it was lacking in some areas.

The book is set mainly in Equatorial Guinea (a new location for me) and the author really conveys the physical environment and the situation for visiting foreigners. We can feel the heat and understand the corruption and attached fear. The lack of trust and morals of the main characters together with their essential lawlessness is an important part of the plot. I really enjoyed the setting and the efforts which the main characters make to circumnavigate the system and try to find the missing girl.

The plot was convoluted and full of sudden surprises - perhaps too many for the reader to take in. It certainly built tension and made me want to read more. I do think that the plot wasn't quite finished off as far as Emily was concerned - there were a few loose ends.

The weakness of the novel, I feel, was in the character of Vanessa/Michael. There is a lot of talking about the gender identity which seemed to boil down to the fact that she could pass for a man - I wasn't quite sure what the fuss was about and nor did I understand how she could successfully imitate a man on the telephone when there were no visual cues. I was interested in her background but I didn't quite get how it fitted in with the modern day story other than it meant that she knew this area of Africa well. I didn't really understand her relationship with her fixers or how she made a living. All in all, I really didn't understand the main character and as most of the book is from her perspective I didn't engage completely with the story.

There were elements of this book which were above the average (the location especially) but I thought that the characterisation let it down. I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not that inspiring. 27 Oct. 2013
By Liz Wilkins TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition
Thank you to the author and publisher for the review copy via Netgalley.

Vanessa "Michael" Munroe deals in information--expensive information--working for corporations, heads of state, private clients, and anyone else who can pay for her unique brand of expertise. A Texas oil billionaire has hired her to find his daughter who vanished in Africa four years ago. It's not her usual line of work, but she can't resist the challenge.

Interesting read for me this one. I enjoyed it without being totally invested in the character that leads us - Vanessa is only kind of interesting...perhaps its that she is not fleshed out enough or perhaps its that she is fleshed out so much as to make her a bit too unrealistic (does ANYONE actually speak that many languages?) but I found other characters within the novel, some that we are unlikely to see again, far more intriguing.

The premise is solid - and the action is well imagined and fast paced. With a more believable central character I think this could have been stunning. What it turned out to be was a bit of a popcorn read. You can while away a few hours with this one quite happily, I did, and it is certainly well written - I can't fault that.

Still, the blurb tells us that this one is for fans of Lisbeth Salander, Jack Reacher and Jason Bourne. While I can see where the comparison has come from in the intent, the execution fails on several levels for me. Certainly Vanessa is no Lisbeth - and perhaps she should not try to be. There is a good grounding here. Pull her back slightly, give her an edge instead of trying to make her all edges, and there is a wonderful character waiting to emerge. As this is a series there is certainly time for that to happen.

A solid 3.5* read for me - I'm pleased I gave it a go and I will read more but I don't feel an absolute urge to rush out and do so immediately.

Happy Reading Folks!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars First Read 26 Jan. 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Have not read this author before but absolutely loved main character. Yes did remind me of the Steig Larsson trilogy but have already downloaded next in this series,
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Female Jack Reacher in Africa? 4 Jan. 2014
By Dean33
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I don't usually review but the poor reviews so far nearly put me off.

I bought this and could not put it down. It moves fast from start to finish.
Monroe is a great new heroine for me and I'll be moving straight on to the next adventure.

No wonder Lee Child has praised this Monroe is a winner. Read the sample and if you like it expect hours more of the same fast paced adventure.

Nearly five stars for me. At times just a little complicated but still a great 'page turner' I could not put down.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category