Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars39
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
35
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVDChange
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2014
This truly is one of Toto's best ever live concerts, it's great to see David Paich back and the legendary Joseph Williams back as lead singer. Every song is sheer brilliance and well executed by a band who are at their prime, I always thought Toto live in Paris in 1990 was their best ever concert, but this far exceeds it. They all look so fit and so well and it clearly shows in their performances, Joseph Williams has never sounded so good and even Luke has got his voice back, he transports to another world when he launches into his guitar solos, it's brilliant to watch and listen too and I will be doing both many times. I hope the studio album they are working on is released very soon.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
I'm 60 years old and have loved TOTO since hearing "Hold the Line" in 1978.

Having never seen the band LIVE, I bought Live in Amsterdam and Falling in Between
and now this masterpiece. This one is the best because it's NEW and fabulous at the same time.

Bobby Kimball was great, but I DO prefer JW at the mike this time out. Steve Lukather also handles all the guitar himself this time with no Tony Spinner (too bad I liked the guy). Steve is as as great as ever and the show feels wonderfully
different (for a longtime fan) and like Deep Purple, they seem to keep the integrity of the band while changing up the players.

If this is your first DVD get it, if you have every DVD its still worth it because they even change the "usual" songs
and improvise so you can't complain about some songs that you've seen before.

TOTO is one of the few bands that you can actually watch from start to finish and LOVE the whole thing; no skipping cuts
or wishing the concert was configured differently. This is no exception, but an exceptional concert that will surely
see some mileage on my surround system. Wings of Time is absolutely "killer" and so is Better World, but these guys
are not a "has-been" band, they truly are amazing to see and hear.

Seasoned session players who have created a masterful catalogue of MUSIC of different genres, all woven together.

Sad to see Simon Phillips leave (although he's on this one) as his groove is Jeff Porcaro approved!

Luke to me is the glue that pulls it all together and he gets better with time, his guitar work majestically perfect.

I wish I could have interviewed these guys for the bonus behind the scenes. The only complaint is it's not long enough.

I'm in TOTO heaven and look forward to their new album in 2015.
22 comments8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
First of all let me say this is so much better than the " Falling in between " DVD/Blu Ray - that one lacked any sort of excitement and just looked like the band were going through the motions although , as ever , the musicianship was of high order - barring two awful solos from SL and SP .
Now to this concert film . Each member of the band really looks like they are enjoying themselves , each member gets a solo spot , the flow of the show is spot on and each of the songs seems fresh .
The sound quality is excellent regardless of the option chosen , the camera work is not of the " cut and fade every 10 nano seconds " variety and everyone seems to enjoy themselves .
An excellent concert by a superb band and highly recommended to both " old and new " fans .
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the finest capture of TOTO in terms of the their musical performance, sound, mix and visually. The song catalogue is interesting and fulfilling, although I find "It's a feeling" and the verse of "Wings of Time" to be duds that do live up to the energy and enjoyment of the rest of the set. This is a band incarnation that enjoys to play together and play extremely well together. The video production is mostly enjoyable with many different angels and great edits, though I find there is a tendency to put too many effects on; the end of "White Sister" is way over the top and looking like a late-80's commercial.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
You can never fault Toto's 5 Star live performances, so what you have here is a review of the production quality of this live BluRay disc and associated CD. It's hard to put your finger on what is missing, but this somehow falls short of the spectacular "Live In Amsterdam" set (but its much better than "Falling In Between Live"! The HD camera work is average, and lacks the definition of "Amsterdam". The BluRay audio is fine, but it needs a good surround sound system to bring it to life. The CD audio is great when played with VOLUME, and disc 2 is certainly better than disc 1. One glaring error though! My CD has an awful squeak/pop at the 2:06 point in the track "The Muse". Given that this is the only new track of the performance, I find this an awful oversight. Unfortunately I can't return the CD as I have accidentally scratched it already (the noise was there before the damage). I would hate to think that this BluRay is as close as we UK fans are going to get to seeing the band live this year. I'm still waiting for the promised UK tour!
1 day, and a further watch and listen later, and I can't give this anything less than a 5 for the performance. But.......I still think the camera work and subsequent video editing sucks! Love the "Behind The Scenes" extra bit.
11 comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I have always admired and rated this band very highly. Excellent music played at the highest standard. Everything is here, from the hits to the best of album tracks and the band is having a ball on stage. Good to see Paich, Pocaro and Williams back in the touring line - up and Lukather is still up there with the best guitarists around. Poland loved them and so will you, buy now and enjoy ! Cheers, John.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
This is wonderful. Stunning visually and sound is immense. I have their Falling in between blu ray recorded in Paris, that is immense too. Great to see David Paich and Steve Porcarro. Luke is awesome as you'd expect. So much sadness with loss of Mike & Jeff Porcarro. I'd loved to have seen a blu Ray especially with Mike on bass. Somehow they keep going. Even now their current line up has changed from this concert. Hungate back on bass, but he was an original. Point is though, these guys are such consummate musicians. I'm so grateful to guys like this fir their talent and the enjoyment they bring. My only beef is that I want them to play Georgy Porgy live on blu Ray, then my life would be complete.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Fab live footage of one of the best live bands on the planet. Great sound quality in 5.1 although the guitar could be a little louder. Top quality musicianship and killer vocals
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
A must have Blu-ray for any music fan .Great camera shots from unusual angles ,and of corse top notch musician ship ,with great songs .
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Fantastic show with a great setlist. The band show just what great musicians they are with great songs, fab playing and the rock back! Getting Joseph Williams back has taken away that slighly irritating over singing they had with Bobby Kimball over the last few tours and they sound and look like they are enjoying every minute.Anyone that needs an introduction to the band need look further and for us fans of old this is what we have been waiting for. Keep on rockin'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse