Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
20
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.23
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2014
I have just finished reading this book and felt I must write a review straight away. Jane the main character has so much courage you keep rooting for her through the difficulties she has to face and made me think how much we take for granted. You will need a box of tissues at times. What a lovely family Jane has and a boyfriend who sees past the wheelchair to the special person Jane is. This is a book you will not put down till you finish the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
This book is beautifully written about a breathtaking story of a young girl who has the odds against her. You want to do anything you can to save Jane and end her families heartbreak. You cry, smile, laugh and sigh with relief. I could read it over and over again and still react the same way!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
At first I thought this book was for teens and I suppose could be, I couldn't make up my mind at the start wether I was going to like this or not, but this is definitely yes, a few tears at the end as the author totally dragged me into the storyline and characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
It's was the most moving story I have read in s long long time .so much Times came when I had t ok stop and wipe the tries away ........saying that I so glad a managed to get to the end .deep down I hope we get a next book justso we can see that nolen manages to move on and the rest of the family too ...xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
5 stars .... 21years of Jane by Yolanda Olson.

If you have read Yolanda's first series, you'd see straight away that 21 years of Jane is a completely different genre than her first series. Having loved Yolanda's first series I was really eager to read her new book, and it certainly didn't disappoint.
After reading the blurb for this I knew I was going to be in for a roller coaster of emotions throughout the book, but I wasn't prepared for how truly gut wrenching this book would be. I had to stop quite a few times because I just didn't think me heart could take anymore and I couldn't see through the tears.
The story is about a young women called Jane. Unfortunately Jane has suffered most of her life with a a disease called Legg Calve Perthes. This disease has left her in a wheelchair and unable to use her legs. Jane has spent most of her life as a loner and completely isolating herself from others because of her disease. Janes parents have had enough of her isolating herself and decide to rake it upon themselves to find her a friend.
Nolan has moved in to Janes neighbourhood, He hears about Jane and us very eager to meet her. They form a friendship very quickly, and with Angolans help Janes stats to open up and and start experience what life truly had to offer her. Through Nolan and Janes friendship, Jane starts to experience lots of "firsts" curtesy of Nolan.
The book takes you on a amazing journey with Jane. Yolanda wrote the book in away that you feel you in the book to and that your taking the journey Jane is on with her. The story makes you feel that there is still hope left in the world and how amazing true friendship really is, and how one person can change someone's life forever.
The book will touch your heart and the story will stay with you long after you've finished it,
Yolanda did a incredible job at writing characters that you will fall in love with., and that you will be routing for.
A outstanding story that everyone should read now.
It was truly a honour to read it.

**reviewed on behalf of Two Ordinary girls and their books **
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
So I don't usually read romances, but I heard so many people saying how fab this book was that I just to try it.
Once I read the first chapter I couldn't put it down and read the whole thing in two hours, from 1am!
The story inspires courage and strength. A brilliant book and yes it made me cry.

Would have given five stars but it does have some errors in grammar and missing words here and there. If you don't mind that it's a great book. It did detract from it for me somewhat but the author did a fab job and apart from that it is very well written. I literally finished five minutes ago and just had to leave a review right away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
As a disabled woman I was excited to find a romance novel where I could identify with the lead character. How disappointed I was to find Jane depicted in such a negative way. The plot had a lot of discrepancies as did the characters. A statement would be made or fact given then later on contradicted. The fact that Jane was 20 and had no friends or kept in contact with old ones was unrealistic in this day and ages with phones,Facebook etc. It also wasn't in keeping with her character and the fact that she wanted to be treated "normal" (groan). She had no trouble befriending Nolan who her parents had found for her (groan). It was sad that she hadn't come to terms with her disability or even knew how to manage it even later in the story. The fact that her Dad seemed to be unable to make the ramp at the front of the house permanent even though he had made a table on the front porch that concealed her wheelchair set the tone of the story for me. A lot of emphasis was placed on walking that it would make her "normal" and complete. Some of the comments made I found slightly offensive.

From a disabled woman's point of view I couldn't understand the following. Her morning routine only took 10 minutes. A bit quick! Ok she had a bath in the evening but even so! She had been looking online at information on fatigue but only in general not in relation to her disability. While she was online why didn't she buy a bath aid so she could get in and out the bath safely and by herself? Also she could of had a look at disability sex guides (!) How she transferred out of her wheelchair when not parked in a disabled bay I do not know!! I could go on but you get the picture.
This is a "princess locked in a tower being rescued by a knight in shinning armour" story and has nothing to do with disability and how it can effect dating/relationships.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Is Ms. Olsen a teenager? If so the childish prose and complete lack of disability awareness could be forgiven. Mentioning the name of a disease couple of times does not detract from the fact that thistory is far fetched nonsense
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
What an enlightening and emotional book. I would recommend this, it was a pleasure to read, written from a perspective I had not been able to comprehend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
brilliant could not put this down it stayed in my head for a very long time. one of those books that makes you realise how fortunate we are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.