Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2009
There are a number of truly great and not so obvious Punk tracks on this compilation, and as usual, some marketing exec/nerd spoils what could have been perfect by including stuff not from the era or the genre. ( I know the speel..."this is an example of how punk influenced, blah, blah, blah"). Shame.

"Top of the Pops" was probably one of the Rezillos' worst......"I cant stand my baby" would have been the one to go for.
Bow Wow Wow, Tom Robinson..........are you having a laugh ?
I love Dr Feelgood, but not on this please. And do we really need another inclusion of "Lust For Life" on a compilation, jeez I used to love that tune and I cant listen to it anymore.

The good stuff makes it better than average though, and hopefully it will expose how under-rated The Saints were.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
This double CD collection covers a good cross-section of the punk and even not quite so punk (it being a 'broad church') classics.

An even older friend of mine recommended it, and it now takes pride of place amongst the rest of my eclectic collection (Prog Rock, blues, classic rock, soul, classical etc.)
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
Given the wide and varied output labelled as 'punk', it is unlikely that any compilation will ever achieve universal greatness. However this is a nice mixture of classics, standards and fringe tracks, well worth a play on anyone's CD player who has a fondness for the punk era. A good one for early evening at the weekend - kick back with an old school can of beer and enjoy the memory trip!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
This is a superb compilation and not one duff track anywhere and the memories for anyone like me who lived through this period against all the odds then you will have all the tracks elsewhere, but for kids who want to know what it was like then buy them this and sit and watch them enjoy your history..
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Brought for me as a father's day present very good album got all the great early punk bands on one cd very good value for money would recommend to every one who likes that kind of music.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Love it great mix of old time punk tunes, brought back some good memories, quick delivery
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
The 'Spirit' of punk means that the compilers can put in things that weren't 'Punk' but they consider that they were executed with the spirit of punk. Mostly, I agree with this to give the wider perspective of what was going on with the inclusion of The Stranglers and Ian Dury, they're great but clearly not playing punk music. What's the Talking Heads doing here? PiL and Bow Wow Wow were a lot later. Take no notice of me, Old, Grumpy and Snooty are a bad combination, there are no weak tracks here and if you want the best punk compilation, this is it.. I bought this album because it's got a lot of tracks by bands that I saw or heard played in the clubs but didn't buy at the time and overall it does evoke the spirit of the time. Some tracks are poppy crossovers but there's not the bandwagon jumpers you get on other albums. There's no Plastic Bertrand or ex Pistols-fantastic. I think the Gary Gilmore's Eyes single was better than this version but that's me being snooty again. Buy this, play loud and enjoy the glorious celebration of youth and freedom.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Brilliant mix of punk!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Perfect
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
50 tracks from 1977. A wider range of artists than many compelation albums. The normal tracks - Pistols for example - are there, but joined by good sellection of others. The closing track from John Cooper Clarke will put a great grin on your face.
11 comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.