1862: A Novel and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading 1862: A Novel on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

1862: A Novel [Mass Market Paperback]

Robert Conroy
2.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
Price: 4.75 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 12 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 1 Sept.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 2.99  
Mass Market Paperback 4.75  

Book Description

April 2006
Following the US Navy's boarding of the British ship Trent in late 1861, Great Britain declares war on the Union while not quite committing to an alliance with the Confederacy. England is a sea power but very limited on land. She knows that Canada is vulnerable to attack, and recognizes the need for a quick and satisfactory end to the war. She needs to convince the Confederacy to fight much of her land war for her. In Washington, Lincoln is convinced that a reluctant McClellan must attack towards Richmond before the Royal Navy strangles the U.S. As a result, a very different Civil War ensues...For fans of Harry Turtledove and John Birmingham, this work presents a thrilling alternate history of the Civil War in which Great Britain joins the Confederacy in fighting the Union.

Frequently Bought Together

1862: A Novel + 1901 + Himmler's War
Price For All Three: 15.32

Buy the selected items together
  • 1901 4.76
  • Himmler's War 5.81

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Presidio Press (April 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345482379
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345482372
  • Product Dimensions: 2.9 x 10.8 x 17.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 2.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 273,579 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

About the Author

Robert Conroy is a semiretired business and economic history teacher living in Warren, Michigan.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Author's bias 13 May 2007
By Rainbow
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
I love history and "What ifs" are always fascinating, helping to bring home the impact of real events. A word of warning on this book though. If you expect it to be a realistic account of a "what might have been" think again. The Author in the opening few pages dimisses all the conventional historians views of a British intervention in the American civil war and quickly starts refering to the sides as Them (The Brits) and Us (The Union). You have been warned!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor 4 Sep 2007
By Birmingham Book Reader VINE VOICE
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I really enjoy alternative history books. But this is a poor, not well thought out addition.

To be honest I failed to finish it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad I didn't finish it 31 May 2007
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This was such a poor book I gave up on it, and that's something that I seldom do. The bias was so clear as to totally spoil the book, the figures from the Confederacy hardly existed and were cardboard cutouts when they did, there was a silly romance saga in there worthy of Mills and Boon. The plot was weak, the 'history' highly debatable and all told - dire.

If you want alternative history this isn't the place to start. Go with Turtledove instead.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NICE IDEA, BUT..... 29 Jan 2008
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I am afraid this book was a disappointment. For me ,alternative ("Counter-factual") history only really works if the genuine historical characters introduced in the piece speak, act and react as they would have done if the twist in circumstances that prompted the writing of the book in the first place had actually occured. But in the very first chapter there is a quite preposterous conversation between Palmerston, Russell and Gladstone which,for me, under-mined the plot from the first.Mr Conroy really should research his historical characters more before putting words into their mouths.The book is also riddled with irritating historical inaccuracies and probable misconceptions which further fractures the illusion of truth e.g.Lord Lyons was not "Ambassador Lyons" at the time: given the composition of the British Army throughout the 19th.Century it is most unlikely that an Irishman would be condemned because he "spoke funny": Sir Garnet's name was not spelt "Wolsey" etc etc.

It could have been done so much better.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars passable 17 Nov 2012
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
1862 is I believe the author's second novel, but does not live up to the promise of his first, 1901.
Mr Conroy explains in an introduction that he ignored the possibilty of a denial of British saltpeter(vital for gunpowder)as he felt the Union's chemists would have produced an alternative. They did, using Chilean nitrates.But this understates the true effect of having Britain as a belligerent.
The author acknowledges that the Royal Navy would have ended the blockade of the Confederacy and destroyed the Union's merchant shipping, but fails to expand on the likely outcome.
With the Confederacy able to export cotton and tobacco freely, it would have been able to finance the war and avoided turning to the printing press and the resulting hyperinflation.
The Union on the other hand would have suffered a British blockade with widespread economic consequences for New England and New York in particular. Exports, imports, even a steady influx of immigrants would have dried up and as Britain was banker to the world,foreign loans would have become unobtainable. The high-handed treatment of France's representatives in the book would probably have resulted in that country's declaration of war.
As a counterfactual,the events are at the author's disposal, but I feel the underlying reality can not be so easily dismissed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor 26 Nov 2011
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Not well written not well researched just poor dont bother save your money.
Touch of the Turtledoves anti British theme
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The first 'what if' book I haven't finished 10 Jun 2008
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I'm a fan of what if books but this one is written from a biased union view which ignores all the academic writing on what the British impact on the Civil War could have been. Union characters are well rounded and detailed but confederate and British ones are not.

I didn't finish the book, but I got over 160 pages into it. The one good part was the description of a naval battle between the monitor and some British ships.

There are plenty of good what if books to read, but this isn't one of them.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback