Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
85
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2010
1001 Beers You Must Try Before You Die, is an excellent book for the beer fanatic. It features a collection of 1001 beers from across the globe. It is not devised like similar books (300 Beers to Try Before You Die) by style eg Ipa, stout, pilsner but by colour eg amber, blond, dark and speciality. Yes the last one was not a colour but its to sort out the ones which do not belong elsewhere eg Geuze.

Its also different as its not just written by Adrian Tierney-Jones, He is the general editor of the collection which features I believe 40 other writers, all who have had a part to play in the book and decide what goes in and what stays out. Adrian Tierney-Jones has not personally tasted all 1001 either and says so in the introduction, he does sum the book up nicely though, explaining why the book is organised as so and about why the are 40 other beer experts. He puts it that is not just one man's opinion but the wisdom of many.

This makes the book seem a little confusing at first, as it comes across as a mass collection of beers in no particular order, or reference to whether they are good, great or just interesting. This is because of all the different writers, as there is no information if they are good in the writers opinion. We just get a page of information about the brewer (information is a bit repetitive for beers by the same brewery), a picture and a small tasting box which contains a little information on what to expect in flavours. This is where other books (as mentioned) slightly get a higher mark in my book as they include more information on each beer and personal recommendation as to the tastes and flavours. This by no means means its bad either, its an excellent collection rather than a guide, similar in some aspects to the late Mr Jacksons Great Beer Guide: The World's 500 Best Beers. An excellent reference book maybe rather than a guide.

Its excellent value for money too as its 960 pages! The book is around three inch thick and contains many pictures of the beers themselves with the correct glass or interesting beer themed images.
Its not the best beer guide but its is an unique and wonderful collection of beers well worth your book shelf space! Recommended!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
I can't fault this super reference book on one of life's great pleasures.

This attractively produced book is rather sizeable and has been divided in to sections of colour- blonde, amber etc as opposed to different types of beer. This makes finding a specific beer very easy.

The vast majority of the beers have a page dedicated to them with historical backgrounds, tasting notes and a photograph of the bottle with (if possible) the official glass.

I would think that if one is a real aficionado of beer, the book maybe lacking a little information, but for someone who likes beer and enjoys reading up on the worlds best, you can't go wrong.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
bought as a gift for my brother-in-law who had mentioned in conversations about trying different beers from different countries ect. He loved it! aswell as descriptions and info about each one it even has a picture of the bottles, which i thought was great and was tempted to track a few down as an additional gift, but as he would have to carry it all on the train from manchester to london with all his other luggage i didnt. The book is HEAVY! and paperback so it will get scruffy and battered, but hey! he also mentiioned that he aims to try them all and keep a little notebook with what the thinks about each one, but he is rather neardy! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2011
This book describes an amazing collection of beers from around the world. It's a joy to pick up and browse and it will open your eyes to lots of new beers. For me though there are still a couple of problems in the way that the book is edited. Firstly the book should be re-titled `1001 BOTTLED Beers...' because draft only beers are overlooked. This means that in the UK you'll find no mention of Bass or Tetley Bitter (nor Tetley dark mild for that matter). OK I know that beer geeks will say that these are not the beers they once were but if US Bud and Pabst BR can be included by way of historic reference then surely these famous old English marques should be in the book? My other gripe is the US-centric selection where a quarter of all beers are from America. Given that so many of these beers are `in the style of' European originals then why not go back to the source beers? Clearly the editors also wanted to spread the net far afield for the remaining three quarters of the book but can it really be right that minor countries (in brewing terms) get such a look in? For example three Sudbrack beers from Brazil and only two De Molen's from Holland. This strikes me as making the numbers up to try and get a spread of geographic representation regardless of the quality/ interest of the actual beer. Oh sorry, one last moan! Morrisey Fox Blonde included in the English section? Do me a favour, there are a thousand better beers in the UK ahead of MF. Is it just a coincidence that Neil Morrisey wrote the book's foreword? Cheers
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Funny book of beers from all over the world. I heard about it on a Simon Mayo program on evening, and had a compulsion to buy it for a laugh more than anything. I have had many over the names they call some.
I have had my fun and worth keeping in the bathroom for visitors to gape at.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
I was bought the book "1001 Beers you must try before you die" and have already had a lot of enjoyment looking up my favourite beers and reading about many more that I had not heard of before.

The fact that I started to record in the book the ones I had tried and, despite another review comment, some of the beers are available 'on tap' in pubs in the UK, meant that I decided to make a spreadsheet of all of the beers together with details of brewery, date 1st brewed and ABV. However, after listing all of the beers I can only find 1000 beers and I've checked and rechecked the listing and I'm almost sure it's correct.

So, maybe the title needs to be amended, or another beer added?
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
I bought this for a nephew who takes a gourmet attitude to beer; I hesitate to give it a five star review as I am not an expert on the subject! However I can say that the recipient seems genuinely enthusiastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
So, having received this book as a Christmas gift and admittedly a person who enjoys his beer/ale, unless I have the memory of an elephant, this weighty tome seems to be nothing more than a white elephant. It's interesting to dip into, and maybe enjoy nostalgic 'ticks' and say: "yes, I've had one of those (and enjoyed it!)" But how in the name of Bacchus are you supposed to use it going forward?! Looking at it now, it's at least 5cm thick and a good kilogram in weight. Not something you will take with you on the off-chance the bars/pubs you come across have a beer from this book you have not yet sampled. Get your notepad of choice (electronic or analogue) and make some notes from this book, but otherwise you are playing the odds unless you know precisely where you will be lucky enough to sample these beers (especially the rarer ones).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
This book was bought for me. The book seems quite useful though I wouldn't put it on a par with the Great Beer Guide written by Michael Jackson. I'm marking the book down because on the surface it appears to be a book aimed at the British market, the sleeve notes are in British English, there's only one price on the sleeve and it's in pounds and it's written by a British writer with a preface by a British actor. Yet the contents including the preface have been written in US English spelling and grammar and Farenheit is given precedence to Celsius. This appears to be a book written for the American market that has had a new sleeve written for it in British English to hide this fact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 December 2015
This was a Christmas present and I spent a happy time trawling this [HEAVY! Maybe the Kindle version might be better!] book. Great pictures and the write ups only very occasionally tip into "beer snobbery". There's definitely some brews that I will seek out and some look to be very unusual. The one thing which would have been fun would have been a checklist so you could tick them off as you try them. No matter, good fun to sit and browse [with a glass of Sierra Nevada IPA...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)